Consequences of Driving Without a License

Did you know that in Florida, your license can be suspended because of issues aside from drunk driving or a violation ticket? In fact, you could be driving without a valid license without even realizing it, simply because of issues such as falling behind in child support payments or having inadequate vision. If you have run afoul of the law because of a suspended or revoked license, it's critical to schedule a Tampa Bay free lawyer consultation immediately. Your criminal defense attorney can help you understand your legal rights and options, and may be able to minimize the potential penalties involved.

Vehicle Impoundment

If you have been pulled over and found to have been driving without a valid driver's license, the officer may impound or immobilize your vehicle. Not only must you cope with the temporary loss of your vehicle, but you'll also be responsible for paying all costs and fees related to the impoundment or immobilization.

Points

Usually, the Florida DMV sends reminder notices to drivers whose licenses are about to expire. Unfortunately, attorneys often represent individuals who forgot to renew their licenses and were subsequently charged with driving with an expired license. If you are found driving with an expired license, you'll have two points added to your driving record. If you've already accumulated some points, this can be particularly problematic. An accumulation of 12 points over a 12-month time period will result in the 30-day suspension of your license. If you have 24 points accumulated over three years, your license can be suspended for one year.

Fines

Your attorney can advise you as to the potential fines involved with driving without a valid license. These fees can vary, depending on the reason for the invalid nature of your license. If your license expired, you might receive a fine as low as $63. If you are found driving with a permanently revoked license—which is a third-degree felony—you can receive a fine of up to $5,000.

Incarceration

In Florida, you can receive jail time for driving with a suspended or revoked license. This can be charged as a second-degree misdemeanor, which means you could be facing up to 60 days in jail. As your attorney can inform you, however, drivers with a permanently revoked license may face up to five years in prison.

No Obligation FREE Case Evaluation

Email us to receive a free case review.

Why Choose Our Firm?

  • Former Assistant Attorney General
  • Free Consults
  • Over 30 Years of Combined Experience
  • After Hours Consults Available
  • Four, Convenient Locations to Serve You
  • Former State Public Defender
  • Former State Staff Attorney for the 2nd District Court of Appeals